polartokyo.blogg.se

Best utorrent version for mac
Best utorrent version for mac






  1. BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC FOR MAC
  2. BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC MAC OSX
  3. BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC UPDATE
  4. BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC UTORRENT
  5. BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC TORRENT

BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC TORRENT

BitLord is known as the easiest torrent client for streaming and downloading. I’m seeding all of the torrents I’ve downloaded so far, and my share ratio is currently about 2.They have an amazing website design and layout, it is very easy to use and user-friendly.

BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC UTORRENT

On the other hand, I’ve been running uTorrent continuously with the settings it came with out of the box, and I don’t even notice that it’s running. With transmission, even when frequently left running overnight with plenty of files available for seeding, my share ratio continually went down, and I was never able to get it above about 0.7.

best utorrent version for mac

This was particularly of concern for me because I believe in trying to contribute to the swarm by keeping my share ratio high. After running Transmission for awhile, my internet connection would inevitably become unusable, so I’d have to quit the app. Also, in the about 2 years that I used Transmission exclusively, even after following several tutorials and making many adjustments to Transmission’s settings over time (and having a fairly solid understanding of the underlying torrent technology at this point), I was never able to get Transmission to play well with my computer and network. Just to followup on my ongoing experience with Transmission/uTorrent…I’ve downloaded 10 torrents so far using uTorrent, and all of them have been much faster than I was used to with Transmission. I hope this info was helpful to you and I encourage you to share your experiences as well. Neither takes up significant resources and they both have a place in my torrent toolbox.

best utorrent version for mac

BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC FOR MAC

In addition to choosing Transmission, I am also leaving uTorrent for Mac installed. Whereas the Mac version of uTorrent may always lag behind the more popular Windows version when it comes to features and development.

BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC MAC OSX

Whereas Transmission fits into the landscape perfectly.Īs Keith pointed out in the comments below, Transmission also has a longer history on Mac OSX and they seem to really focus on pushing the limits for the Mac version. But on Mac OSX uTorrent just does not fit in, it does not quite belong in Apple-Land. However, especially in older versions, it is not a streamlined simple interface. When I use Windows I personally tend do more complex things and at those times I prefer the control/info that uTorrent offers in plain vie. This conclusion (choosing Transmission) really came as a surprise to me. The complexity is hidden and with the “keep it simple” mantra I find myself not even digging into the options that I often play with on uTorrent for Windows. When I use a Mac I try to keep things simple, Transmission is a very simple and streamlined interface that makes downloading torrents easy. If I had to choose one I would choose Transmission. Thankfully these are both great torrent apps for use on Mac OSX Lion. This really comes down to individual user preference but I generally like more info rather than less so for me uTorrent gets the nod. Transmission is very minimalistic and “Mac like” while uTorrent provides you with loads of information. User InterfaceĮach client takes a totally different approach to user interface and content presentation. Transmission open source and is available on Mac, GTK+ and Qt as well as being ported to a variety of platforms. UTorrent is readily available on Windows and Mac.

best utorrent version for mac

uTorrent gets a small win here since I prefer its speed reporting and graphing capabilities vs. Speeds were comparable, neither provided an extreme DL boost compared to the other. Neither had any problems solidly downloading a variety of legal torrents. Performance:īoth clients performed admirably in my tests.

best utorrent version for mac

BEST UTORRENT VERSION FOR MAC UPDATE

However, the next time I am doing development work in my VMWare Mac OSX installation I will try to take screenshots and update the article. *Note: I returned my MacBook Air so I have not been able to add the screenshots and UI comparisons that I wanted to. The top candidates: uTorrent and Transmission WANTED – a good Torrent client for Macįirst up, a good Torrent client. So I did what I never thought I would, I bought a Mac.Īfter all that, I will get to the point… since I am playing with Mac OSX a bit (before probably switching to Win 7 on bootcamp or VMWare Fusion) I need replacements for some of my “go to” apps. Well, they re-added the backlit keyboard and they also put in some spicy new CPUs and nice big SSD options. I had known the MacBook Airs were good little computers for quite some time, but after they did away with the backlit keyboard a while back I scratched them off of my “short list” of top notebook. It is the best ultralight travel computer I could find. Specifically a MacBook Air 11.6″ notebook.








Best utorrent version for mac